Why Should I Invest in a Wi-Fi Thermostat?

Unless you have been living under a rock for the past five years you have probably heard about programmable thermostats and the benefits they could potentially have for your home and your wallet. Unfortunately, very few people actually see the savings that a programmable thermostat can provide. Programming a traditional programmable thermostat is very tedious and if you don’t know what you are doing you might never figure it out. You are more likely to simply use the thermostat like a non-programmable digital unit because the programming is so difficult to set. However, programmable thermostats have been changing. Touchscreen capabilities coupled with Wi-Fi access is the new standard in programmable thermostat technology.

The Benefits of a Wi-Fi Enabled Thermostat

How many times have you wasted your hard earned money heating and cooling an empty home all because you forgot to turn back the temperature on the thermostat? Odds are it has happened many times but if you had a Wi-Fi thermostat, forgetting to turn back the thermostat before you leave the house would not be a problem. Wi-Fi enabled thermostats are constantly connected to the Wi-Fi network in the home. You can therefore control the thermostat from anywhere you can access the internet. Most manufacturers have a website where you can adjust the temperatures and programs on your personal thermostat. This flexibility makes these thermostats an attractive option and makes it much easier for the average homeowner to save money with a programmable thermostat.

2 thoughts on “Why Should I Invest in a Wi-Fi Thermostat?

  1. I like the idea of being able to control the thermostat remotely. I always reprogram my thermostat, so I mess up the default settings. Then I forget to turn it down before I leave the house. I even left the house for a week on vacation and forgot to reprogram the thermostat. So this solution is perfect. Being able to just go online and change the thermostat temp is a pretty good deal!

    • Great comment! Sounds like you could really benefit from a wifi thermostat. I know I do. With my busy schedule always changing, I need to be able to control my thermostat from afar if I am ever going to get the most out of my programmable stat.

Leave a Reply

